The Invitation

Karly’s precious little hands. She was so determined to share her thoughts with us, then eventually the world after we found a way for her to communicate at age 10.

As Karly’s health declined, she asked me to post this poem she wrote, after she passed. Her beautiful heart and spirit continued to guide us right to the end of her days. She leaves behind an enormous hole in our hearts and lives.

Lois Swope-Karly’s Mom

The Invitation

 

The music of heaven fills my heart with longings I cannot ignore

The time spent on earth full of its possibilities, 

becomes a distant memory

compared to what I see through weary eyes

 

I leave my love behind to offer as a beacon 

for those who wonder if it’s true,

I have seen, I have heard, I am certain

 

It’s a small step for me now on this path

I hear the tears of many who have loved me so well.

Love another like you loved me, 

and this world will be a better place.

 

I see the face of God

I see my new beginning and I am full of joy

I will watch for you, please come.

 

 Karly Wahlin

February 17, 2012

Karly and her Beau 2011

17 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    clicker09 said,

    My heart goes out to you. Thank you for posting this on her site. She has been an inspiration to me and my career as a therapeutic horseback riding instructor. Please keep this site online for as long as you can to keep inspiring and informing people. Sch peace she gives. Much love.

  2. 2

    Shani said,

    Thank you so much Karly for the inspiration you have been to me and so many others and thank you so much Karly’s mum for never giving up and finding a way for Karly to communicate with us.
    I look forward to the day when my daughter can also communicate on a deeper level with me and share her hopes and dreams and struggles.
    I pray that God will be able to use her to inspire others too.
    I ask too that you will keep this site up for as long as possible.

    Love Shani

  3. 3

    Sandy said,

    My heart rejoices for Karly’s freedom, my heart breaks for your loss.
    Thank you for giving Karly a voice so she could give a voice to others.
    God Bless and keep you. May he surround you with warmth and comfort during this time. May Karly send you strength from above.

  4. 4

    Lynda Hansen said,

    Lois and Greg my heart and prayers are with you.
    Love Lynda Hansen

  5. 5

    Tonya said,

    Oh beautiful sweet Karly- your words are a comfort. We are all sad, happy for you, but sad for us as we will all miss you and your wisdom.

  6. 6

    nnora said,

    I’ve read for so long and appreciated Karly’s strength and beauty. I’ll be thinking about all of you and also being thankful for seeing just a tiny glimpse of Karly – a beautiful person.

  7. 7

    Niki said,

    Lois, I am so sad for you. The pain of losing someone who has consumed so much of you is unimaginable. At the same time, I am so happy for Karly, who has peace and is no longer suffering. You are living a moment so many of us fear, when we have to ballance our sorrow and loss with the knowledge that the person we love is finally whole. Karly dances on her legs and sings her music for the Heavens to hear now. I celebrate for her.

  8. 8

    Jackie said,

    I am so sorry to read such sad news. Karly is such an inspiration, and her legacy will live on in her words and music.

  9. 9

    cheryl said,

    Rest in peace what a beautiful poem, what a beautiful young woman<3

  10. 10

    Michelle said,

    I work with kids and adults with special needs, I came across karly’s blog because I was looking up info about rett syndrome. I work with a girl with rett’s, all I can say is I’m so happy I found her blog. Seeing how kept on trying and never gave up she had such determination, from that I know all girls with rett syndrome can some how communicate! They just need to find away to get it out, I think it’s also very special that karly’s mom never gave up on her! I even emailed karly one time, I didn’t no if I would hear back from her I thought she probably gets tons of emails from people. She emailed me back right back, karly was a very sweet girl. Thank you for that karly, I will miss all your poems and blogs! I know your in a better place now ❤ R.I.P

  11. 11

    Michele Van Ness de Luna said,

    I am so sorry to hear of Karlys passing .!!!! She and you whole family are in my prayers . She was such a beautiful girl inside and out . I was so glad when she found away to speak i just pray one day my beautiful niece Parker will find hers .

  12. 12

    Rachel Wale said,

    I’m so sad to hear about Karly’s passing! Although I was one of her PCAs for only a short time, I was impacted by her beautiful, loving and joyful spirit. I never forgot her and her love of music; her “Barn Cat” song especially made me happy, and I believe I left a Michelle Tumes CD with her, whom I love. I pray that God’s presence continues to comfort all who loved Karly and I’m glad she is now enjoying it’s fullness.

    -Rachel (Horn) Wale

  13. 13

    Suzie Pfingsten said,

    Karly’s family, I am so sorry for your loss. Although I never had the privilege of meeting Karly, I have enjoyed reading her posts for several years and have always been impressed by her wisdom and acceptance of her lot in life. She had a beautiful spirit and I have enjoyed her music and poems. She has given me so much to think about. I hope you can find peace, despite your grief. My thoughts are with you all.

  14. 14

    Tammy Rose said,

    Lois I am so sorry for your loss, my thoughts and prayers go out to you and your family. Karly’s site has been so inspirational, what a courageous talented young woman.

  15. 15

    Julie Garcia said,

    I am so sorry for your loss. Miss Karly’s blog always inspired me. She truly was an angel. You should be so proud that your daughter had such a beautiful voice.

  16. 16

    eve blockley said,

    I also came across Karlys blogs whilst researching retts syndrome my daughter after 29 years just being diagnosed. I am so very sad for your loss what a inspiration Karly was and i have thanked her in prayer for she has truly opened a door of hope for me and my lovely Rachel. She will be without doubt with the very special angels who guide us through sometimes very difficult times. Karly was a lovely light and inspiration.

  17. 17

    Jan Kilian said,

    I shared The Invitation by Karly with a mother who recently lost her daughter to cancer. She was deeply moved, as are any of us who have read this. Thank you for sharing. God blesses you and all of us I would like to obtain more copies of the card on which it is printed. S Jan Kilian


Comment RSS

Leave a comment