Thanks For Giving

It has been a wonderful week for me!  Many wonderful gifts have come into my life and I am so thankful today.  The medication finally stopped tormenting me and I am feeling more like myself.  I’m not interested in medication unless it’s absolutely necessary again, so my gratitude is that we tried it, found out what happened and were able to get off of it.  

I was writing a lot last week.  I had many opportunities come to me that I wasn’t expecting.  One of them was to be a chapel speaker at Teen Challenge.  I can choose the date so I asked for one after Christmas.  I worked on my talk for about six hours so far and it feels really good.  It’s a miracle that I am able to share anything at all and I feel so fortunate, truly fortunate to be given an opportunity to share for up to 50 minutes.  It will be in front of 150 people.  Their director, Steve, said that my story is very inspiring especially to people who have some really hard times.  I feel so blessed to be seen as someone who has a message to share!

I was also given the opportunity to write for a horse magazine called Apples ‘n Oats.  I will be writing for the Spring edition, but their winter edition has my favorite photo from riding this summer with a brief message from me.  It’s so beautiful.  It will be an entire page of their magazine, so I feel very happy about that too.  applesnoats

This is the photo in Apples n' Oats. My Mom took it while I was riding in November.

I was contacted because my song Ever After was used in a meditation CD for caregivers.  I think it sounds like a beautiful way for people who provide all kinds of care to others others, be provided and cared for too.  Creative Health Care Management

I wrote a poem for my new friends at Bible Study, but it’s a poem for everyone in my life who has become dear to me.  That is many people this year.  I feel forever changed and so much love.

When Time Stood Still

Karly Wahlin

I saw my life stretching before me, 

longing for connection with others

reaching for a hand so elusive

asking questions not heard

I saw the awkward glances in my direction

hoping they wouldn’t expect 

more than I could give

I begged God for someone who 

knew with their heart

someone who saw with their kind eye

who gave generously of their friendship

seeing my contributions as enough

Hope restored is a powerful thing

giving strength where there was isolation

bringing friends into a circle warmed by 

the fire of unity

I found you!

I have been blessed.

My favorite photo of me and Beau


My dear friend Laurie, and Chester. They have blessed me with some of my favorite moments.

Love, Karly

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Great new opportunities! I love the poem. 🙂

  2. 2

    Karly, I’m so grateful for you! Glad you are feeling better at last. Hope to stop by soon to catch up a little.
    Love,
    Barbara

  3. 3

    Sandy said,

    The poem is beautiful! You are so blessed with a gift for words!
    I am excited for you for all these opportunities coming your way! God definitely has a plan for you!!! Glad you are feeling better!!
    Your friend across the pond,
    Sandy

  4. 4

    Rita Bruechert said,

    Karly, Getting to know you and your Mom have been an absolute blessing for me. I thank God for bringing you both into my life. I can’t wait to get to know you better. Thanks for being part of my small group. Rita

  5. 5

    Mary Lynn said,

    Hi Karly,
    I met your mom tonight and found out about your website. I have been reading it, and really like your poem. Thanks for sharing your talents on your blog. I am looking forward to reading more!


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

