A Very Personal Story!

After Jeff shared his message last Sunday at Woodland Hills Church

It has been a perfect week.  I have had so many great things happen to me.! Last Sunday Pastor Jeff Lexvold shared his message at our church that he titled, Lessons From Karly.  My feelings about it were: honored, overwhelmed, grateful, embarrassed and miraculous.  I didn’t want to be in the audience and noticed, so we sat on the side, but the people who talked with us were so kind and encouraged me by saying that my story changed their lives.  Jeff has been a great new friend.  He has told us that he will be sharing a message at Sonshine Festival that includes my story next July.

It’s amazing what has happened in my life!!  I never even hoped that my story and life would have this much impact on others.  I hoped that I could help other Rett girls and their families, but I never imagined that average people could be changed by my story and our families very personal challenges.  But I guess what has happened, is that God is able to use the most ordinary lives to help others.   There are 20,000 people or more at Sonshine Festival, so to imagine my story helping others feel more joy in their own lives, brings me such contentment.

I was on the Let's Go Fishing boat yesterday and invited my friend Claudia. It's been so great to have a boat I can go on the St Croix River with. I loved every minute!

It was a perfect day!

Many people go on these boats to enjoy the St Croix River.

I hope that you never give up!!  That you don’t wish for someone else’s life.  That you are honest about your own story, because I have found that God uses our struggles to bring light to others.  I sit here today struggling with breath holding and hyperventilation and I wish that would go away.  But in this I do not worry, because what I am experiencing is the same as thousands of others who live with this disorder and I feel connected to them.  I hope my story doesn’t seem impossible to you.  Because if I were to dream a dream that included some of the things that have happened in my life, it would be a fiction, but God made it into a non-fiction.  I love the verse “Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart”.  I know that God turned my nightmare into a dream and for that I am so grateful!!

Here’s the message Jeff titled: Lessons From Karly

Love, Karly

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    May God bless you with increased strength. You are an encouragement and a light!

  2. 2

    Ben Young said,

    Dear Karly
    I have found your life story as a great encouragement to me. You have shown how you can’t judge a book by its cover. The Lord bless and keep you and your family.
    Your friend,
    Ben Young


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

