On the North Shore

Outside our cabin

The cabin was perfect to make great food in

I love being able to visit with my keyboard. I can do that easily with Mom and Amy

I feel so glad for my Mom

I love Leah’s cuddles

We had a lot of fires. They are so calming to me.

I couldn’t get close to the water because I can’t walk on the rocks, but I could hear the waves from our cabin.

I am sitting on our patio this morning in the sun, at home.  We got home yesterday from our trip. Leah came home from Ohio and our good friend Amy, who is like a sister to me,  went together with our Mom to a beautiful cabin.  I feel so glad for it.  I was so calm the whole week we were there.  I slept a lot.  I didn’t hyperventilate hardly at all.  I felt relaxed.  I was so relaxed I didn’t feel like writing.  I am sorry Leah had to go home so soon.  Her life is busy and I miss her.  But I loved seeing her so much this week. It was raining the whole time, so we didn’t go to the Gooseberry Falls, but it didn’t matter because we were in a beautiful place, with a fire and each other.  

I loved being here with Leah

I have a poem that came to me while we were there.  I titled it: 

A Resting Place

People get busy

They overlook, overwork, get weary

keep going…and going

They ignore, signs of hope

the call to rest

leaving behind and getting away seems impossible

like theres obligations bigger than they

It’s a call often ignored

but the North Shore restores mind and soul

It gives a break from life as we know it, 

providing comfort in its solitude.

Thank you Lake Superior for helping us slow down

to see

hear

look 

explore what is lovely, inside each of us 

Together we love

apart we long for peace and harmony

Love, Karly 

Lake Superior looked like the ocean!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    GD said,

    Beautiful pictures! And don’t beautiful places just inspire your writing so much? Well done!

    -GD
    Visit my writing blog at http://shelleddreams.wordpress.com/

  2. 2

    Sandy said,

    What a beautiful post! I could feel your relaxation and peace. I am so glad you got to spend a special girls weekend! I think we all need that from time to time! The poem is beautiful….as always you always remind me what is important in life! I hope to see you soon!
    Love, Sandy


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

