Poem For The World

This always makes us smile.

I have become interested again in writing poetry because I am part of a poetry group of adults who are not disabled.  We are called Mulberry Poets. I have felt welcomed and valued there and I feel so glad for that.  I know how hard it is for people who have disabilities to be noticed for who they are and not what they have.  For today, I want to send some hope into our world and I think this poem was inspired for that reason.

To Change the World

 It doesn’t take much talent to bring joy

It doesn’t take much joy to change hearts

It doesn’t take much effort to change someones day

It doesn’t take, but gives

to offer a smile

a hand

a kind word

to notice someone who needs a hug

It doesn’t take much to hear the birds song

the flower blooming

the children laughing.

 It doesn’t take much to pet a dog

to offer a cup of tea

to listen to someone’s story

It doesn’t take much to change someone’s day

It only takes our willing hearts and awareness to respond

 Look, see, hear, feel

It’s all we have to do in this moment,

and the next

and the next…..

Karly

May 2, 2011

I feel content with Beau

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Missy Millhouse said,

    No it doesn’t take much. You just have to slow down enough to realize.
    I’m glad you’re writing your wisdom is poems. I love the picture of Beau with
    his cat!

  2. 2

    Danielle Ferrin said,

    Karly, how WONDERFUL!! That is my most favorite one yet!!! What truth. Simple, yet so revolutionary today against all the “action”. Can you post that on Woodland’s too? Wow – how wonderful to have people sharing their passions and lifting each other up too. Proud of you, Mulberry Poet! I’ve missed seeing you guys and will be there on WEd.! 🙂
    Love, Danielle

  3. 3

    Sandy said,

    Simply beautiful. Simply true. Thank you for the reminder that it only takes a little kindess to make a difference!

  4. 4

    Mark Schafer said,

    Enjoyed the poem and pics. Glad I finally found your blog so I might visit. Keep on sharing as you can. Critter lovers are my kind of folk and the critters that love us back are too.


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

