Fats Make me Happy

My dear friend Norma made this head wrap for me.

I love it!

I have been feeling really good the past few weeks.  I wanted to share this because it might be connected with something we are doing different for me.  We are working with a woman named Darlene Kvist who specializes in diets for people with neurological disorders.  We changed my diet a lot a few months ago and I felt better right away.  I don’t eat any gluten or dairy.  I haven’t done that for many years and it has helped me so much, but I never wanted to eat meat.  It made me feel bad for the animals and it made me feel sick in my stomach, so I was eating mostly rice and beans and vegetables and some fruits.

In the summer we started talking with Diane and she told me that without meat in my diet, my diet would have trouble because I couldn’t get the right…my Mom says…(Amino Acids.) Without the right amino acids my brain wouldn’t function right, so she really encouraged me to eat meat everyday.  I have two different kinds everyday now and it is usually organic, so it doesn’t have hormones in it.  I now eat four meals each day and I don’t eat much rice.  She said it was too many carbs.  I felt better right away after we changed to this diet.  The other thing she said was to increase my fats a lot…a lot!  I now have a lot of fats in my diet.  I will have my Mom share what I am taking, but I can say that I feel so much calmer and more content.

**Here’s what Karly is now taking daily:

DHA 200: 6  ea day – 200 mg / gel cap=1200 mg / day

Omega -3 1000:  2 ea day

Org Coconut oil: 6 tsps each day

O Olive Oil: 4 tsps. each day

Butter: 4 tsps daily

Instead of Brown Rice Karly is eating more Hand Harvested Wild Rice

(Lois-Karly’s Mom)

Darlene told me that most people can reduce their anxiety and depression by getting the right kinds of fats in the right amount in their bodies everyday.  We made some changes about one month ago, we added more fats. It has made a huge difference.  I wanted to share this because it’s been a few weeks now that we have added the extra fats and I feel like a different person.  I hope this helps other girls with Rett.

Love, Karly

Beau has a yoga stretch he does when he wakes from a nap. It's so cute! That's Scarlett on his back.

 

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Barbara McAfee said,

    Hello Karly!
    I finally caught up on your life through your blog. It’s been a very long time! I am recommending you for an Ann Bancroft Foundation award again this year. I’m assuming that’s okay with you again. I think it would be a wonderful way for you to get recognized as the leader you are — AND to get more of your wonderful music into the world (and people’s hearts). I was at Wild Sound last night working with one of my voice clients on her beautiful song, Where the Angels Live. Matthew and I spoke fondly of you and your family and that whole incredible experience we shared less than a year ago. It was one of the sweetest times of 2010 — and my life! I’m looking forward to some time to hang out with you. Things are a little nutty this week and next, but then I have some breathing room around the holidays. I’ll call after Christmas and stop by. I miss you a lot!
    Much love,
    Barbara

    • 2

      karly Wahlin said,

      Hello Barbara
      Thanks for nominating me again for the award! You are a great friend to me. I feel so fortunate to know you. I am so excited to see you again. I hope to see you someday at Boutwells. I go there often too. I want to have you come to our house. It’s so beautiful this time of year.
      Merry Christmas
      Karly Wahlin

  2. 3

    Sandy said,

    What a wonderful resource this woman must be! I am so glad she is helping you feel better. I know that I love my fats too….especially the greasy french fried kind!! 🙂

  3. 4

    Brenda Tuma said,

    Hi Karly, I’m so glad to hear that you are feeling better due to your diet. I have tried being a vegitarian three times and each time I ended up feeling so anxious, irritatable and foggy in my head that I had to go back to eating meat. Years ago I was introduced to the zone diet, which focuses on eating lean meats, healthy fats and lots of vegetables and fruit (more veggies than fruit). It recommended limiting carbohydrates, especially refined flours and sugars, and sticking more with whole grains. It helped immensely. I do try to stick to eating mostly organic meats though.

    Bryan has been having a pretty tough time lately, so your prayers for him would be welcome. It has slowed down progress on the production of your interview for the cable show. I’m working on something that will hopefully help turn things around. I should give serious consideration to helping ensure that he’s eating a better diet. Thanks for the reminder of just how important that is.

    Love,

    Brenda


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

