In My Room

Beau got to come on our patio today. His coat is thick and warm.

I have learned something from  my time alone each day.  I asked my Mom to help me have some time by myself each day.  I have been able to do it most days lately and I have learned that I need to be alone so that my thoughts can slow down.  I haven’t spent much time alone in my life because of my disability.  I get really tired of always being with someone who is there to meet my needs.  I like some time to relax so I have discovered that in my room I get my thoughts together.  It helps me calm down.  I don’t know if other girls with Rett get tired of people always being near them, but it’s been hard for me lately.

The sun is shining today and it feels so comfortable in my favorite rocking chair.  I asked my Mom to put my cd with birds and chimes on my player.  It’s so soothing.

Love, Karly

This is a poem I wrote this morning.

In Flight

I see my life from a distance

I see people I usually don’t

I feel the wind taking my concerns

 

I give my dreams freedom to bloom

I haven’t loved like this before

I take time alone

Away from the cares of my body

I find freedom in flight

November 2010

Karly Wahlin

 

 

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    linda said,

    Karly, I am so glad you have found a way to be alone in your room, with your own thoughts and space for comfort and renewal.
    I LOVE seeing pictures of you and Beau!
    What a beautiful horse and a beautiful girl, inside and out!

    I love your poem and how you speak your heart!
    Hugs to you and your mom,
    Linda

  2. 2

    Amanda Vaughn said,

    Karly, I can’t tell you how much I appreciate the effort you take to share your feelings and thoughts with others. I am a mother of a 13 year old daughter, Brianna, with Rett Syndrome. Your blogs have opened my eyes even more to what she may be experiencing. Your information is far better than any recommendation by a doctor or therapist because you truly know and understand. Thank you from a mother who is now inspired to believe more, expect more and try more.

  3. 3

    Karen said,

    Dear Karly,
    You are a beautiful soul … not only by your words, but the things you love, your gentle nature and the wonderful photos you share. I love your autumn trees and the colours and nature scenes you are drawn to. I live in Australia and our native trees do not provide the magical colourscape as you are lucky to see. We are in spring and enjoying more warmth in the air. I live not far from the sea and love spending time on the beach with my dogs. I believe water has a powerful healing effect, and I think it’s the negative ions in nature environments that draw away our pain and restore a sense of balance and wellbeing.
    I find it hard to know how challenging your experience is, and also feel blessed that you choose to share your life as you do. You help me appreciate the capacity we all have to share love, and to feel with my heart rather than my mind. You are in my prayers sweet girl
    With love, Karen


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

