I am Who I Was Born to Be

I am in the middle of writing my talks for camp this summer.  The theme is “Freedom”.  I have had so much freedom this past year to show who I am.  It has changed me. It has made me realize how fortunate I am.  I know that not all people with disabilities are given the same opportunities that I have been.  I see how much hope I have because I have been given a life that is worth living. 

 I am using some of my songs in my talks.  I also have a couple of DVD’s that I am inspired by.  The song that Susan Boyle sings on her CD, titled I am Who I Was Born to Be, is one of my new favorites.  My Mom loves that song too and usually cries when she hears it.

 Most people wouldn’t choose a life that looks like it has so many limitations to others.  However, I am content most of the time because I know that while I can’t share all of my experiences with others, I have a blessed life.  I have an open heart and I love very well.  I pray often.  I have positive thoughts.  I hear songs that I will compose.  I think kindly of the people who provide care for my needs.  I know that many girls with Rett are like me. They are the people who go unnoticed and have so much to offer.  They see things that go past many people. 

 Thanks for reading my blog.  I miss having people leave comments.  I hope you leave one today.

 Love, Karly

This picture of me and Beau in his barn is one of my favorites

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Miranda said,

    Hi Karly,
    It is good to “hear” from you again. I enjoy your blog. I was introduced to your music through some friends at church. I would love to buy one of your CDs. Keep writing, friend – you are beautiful!

    • 2

      Miranda said,

      Just a follow up to say that I found your link and have now bought your songs online. 🙂 I am really excited to listen to your beautiful music. What a gift! I am thankful that you have shared it.

  2. 3

    Heidi said,

    Hi Karly,
    I was so glad when I checked your blog today and saw two new blogs! I had been checking your page over the last several weeks hoping for an update. 🙂 I am very frustrated to hear about your experience with your CD and whoever these people are who think you’re not composing your music and keeping it from girls with Rett. No, actually I’m mad! I pray that something can be done to change that. Your message and music are so powerful, and you are right to want to share it with girls with Rett…what an inspiration that would be! Please know you are in my thoughts and prayers.
    Much love,
    Heidi

    P.S. Excited about your camp talks, can’t wait to hear about it!

  3. 4

    Sandy said,

    Karly,
    I always look forward to your posts. You have a beautiful way of putting things in perspective and showing us all what really matters most in life. You inspire me just by being you!

  4. 5

    Emma said,

    Hi Karly,
    Just so you know, I read, listen and hear your every word! I tell my 2 year old girl with Rett syndrome about the wonderful things you do. I will be writing to the IRSF to ask them their reason for not promoting your CD. My friends call me the ‘Ball of Fury’ and I guess they are right especially when I get a bee in my bonnet about injustices!
    It’s a beautiful sunny winter day here in Australia and we just got back from seeing the koalas and possums at our local wildlife centre. Our daughter loves animals and loves being out and about. I hope you are enjoying your summer.
    Kind regards,
    Emma

    • 6

      spiritdances said,

      Hi Emma
      You are so kind to send me a message. I am so excited for your daughter, because she also has a mom who believes in her. It is my biggest wish that my story will help other girls with Rett to be seen in a new way. As intelligent people who need extra support to make their voices heard. I’m so honored that you would write to IRSF and ask them the questions about my CD. In our state they came to interview me for the newsletter but then decided they didn’t want the people in Minnesota to get false hope and believe that their daughters could do something like compose. They also think that facilitated communication is not acceptable. It’s amazing to me because one of IRSF’s board members is Susan Norwell who believes in me and has been to our house to visit with me. She teaches facilitated communication to some girls with Rett Syndrome. It makes me sad that they decide for us what’s best. They are not communciation experts, but Susan Norwell is. I hope you can get an answer from them. Thanks for giving me your support.
      love, karly

  5. 7

    linda said,

    Karly, I enjoyed your blog very much. I am so touched by the inspiration of God’s love, joy and peace in your heart and in your words.

    Ashley is my son, David’s, girl friend. I think you have met David. We live in Illinois and Ashley just visited. She brought 2 of your CD’s as gifts. One for me and one for my step-mom who is suffering with Parkinson’s disease. Ashley wanted to share your love and music with us!

    Please know, I believe, you have had a tremendous impact on Ashley’s life and she on yours. She is a wonderful girl with much love to share. I am so glad she has told me about you.

    I love the words you have written on your small card. The words ” in the quiet of my heart I am slow”…I think God wants us all to be quiet in our soul. I am so glad that you can breathe deeply, sit quietly, think freely which so often we don’t stop to do. Most of all, I am glad you know the joy of loving
    deeply.

    I will write you again after I listen to your CD.
    I probably would not have written any comment, if you did not say you missed
    comments!

    PS Last summer, Ashley shared with us, your great conference in Iowa.
    What is the name of the conference, in case, I know someone who would want to attend?

    Have a great day and know God is loving you and blessing you today!

  6. 9

    Adel Forsythe said,

    Hi Karly,
    We are so excited to read your blog. My daughter Katy and i were just reading some of your comments. Katy is 8 years old and has Rett Syndrome. She is fortunate to be able to walk well. Like you, she is frustrated at her inability to speak her mind. We are just starting home schooling and will make typing a big priority.

    I was telling Katy about your discussions about how if feels to live in your body. She seemed to agree with many of your comments.

    I can’t wait for her to be able to tell me about herself! Thanks for the inspiration Karly. You are a gift from the Lord!


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

