The Best Party

I am so glad Leah came from Ohio

My friend Sandy and music therapist Karen, brought beautiful flowers

My CD Release party was on Saturday. The room was full of family and friends. My sister Leah came home from Ohio for the day. It was a great day. I had so much contentment because I felt calm and peaceful. I was able to communicate with most of my guests with Amy facilitating. In the room there were four women with Rett Syndrome. It was a beautiful day for me. I did not expect to have this happen in my life, to have a CD that gives me a voice is something I never imagined.

My friend Jeff Dunn made a beautiful set of posters for me.

My great friend Amy was facilitating so I could visit with everyone.

It’s so wonderful to have friends and family who believe bigger things for girls with Rett Syndrome. We are not unable. We are able, if we are allowed.   It is something that many people will not understand. I have had a few people say some awful things about me. I only wish to tell them that the day will come when they will have to change their minds. I am not the only female with Rett Syndrome who is able to show that we have intellect. My friend Elizabeth was at my party too. She also uses a keyboard. It’s not something that most people have experienced. To have no voice, no way to point, no way to write, no way to walk and show something, no way to speak or sing. When we found my keyboard method, my life became whole. It made sense because I could communicate. I could tell what was inside of me. I could say what I needed. I could say that I was in there. If you could see what is in our minds, you would know that to give opportunities to those who are unable to demonstrate through no fault of their own, that they are intelligent, is the only right thing to do.

My friend Elizabeth also has Rett Syndrome. She was able to visit with others with her keyboard.

 

I have been confident that I am doing what I am suppose to do in sharing my story with this world. I don’t regret it, but I regret meeting people who are assuming that their hurtful comments have no effect on me, because they assume I don’t understand. I would never hurt them.

I went into my party with these things in my mind. I want to tell everyone who was there with me, that I felt your belief, I felt your support, I felt your love, and I feel inspired myself to continue doing what I know God created me to do.

Thanks to my friends I have hope and joy today.
Love, Karly

Karen came to my house the day after. She did a great job of sharing our story with others. I love her.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    BOJ said,

    Only God knows it alll. 🙂

  2. 2

    Bethany Crossley said,

    Beautiful pictures, party, music, and woman! Karly, I wish I could have been there to support you! I am at the library right now, checking my email because it will be a while til I get things hooked up at my new place. I just want you to know how grateful I am for your friendship, for your talents, for your spirit. I am glad that the party went well! Love you~

  3. 3

    Heidi Melquist said,

    Karly,
    I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at your party. I thought about you guys a lot that day, I even had a dream about your party the night before! I am sad I couldn’t be there with you to share in your special day, but I’m glad to see pictures and hear all about it on your blog.
    Miss you lots,
    Heidi

  4. 4

    Liz Novotny said,

    Karly-
    I’m so happy I was invited to participate in your special day. Thank you again for including me and am anxiously awaiting our next ‘date’!
    Lots of love to you,
    Lizzy


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

