Loving Christmas

The tree sits in our sunny window

I am sitting in front of our Christmas tree this morning and I thought I would write a quick message about how much I love this time of year.  I love it for our family getting together with others.  I love to think of gifts to give my caregivers and close family.  It is way to cold outside to be out there so we are cozy in our house.  But the thing that I love the most is our Christmas tree.  I love the lights.  I have written about this a lot in the other parts of my blog, but I thought it might be interesting to write about it again.

 I wonder if other Rett girls are as calm with sparkly lights as I am.  I can’t stop looking at them.  It is distracting to write when the lights are on, but it also helps me calm down.  Many times my breathing is normal when I am near the tree in the evening when the room is dark.  I think it does something in my brain to see lights.  It feels calm.  It is somehow relaxing to my thoughts to have lights on a tree that sparkle gently, and music helps too.  It is more than just having a great time with family.  It really does make a difference that goes deeper than my happiness.

 I wonder if you have noticed this with other girls who live with Rett.  I hope everyone is healthy and content today.
Love, Karly

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Mindy Rumuly said,

    Our Aly LOVES the lights on the Christmas Tree! She happily sits and enjoys them! Music affects her also, but the combination of the tree, music, and family makes her happiest! Thanks for sharing. By the way, I cannot wait to hear your CD when it’s finished. Aly will enjoy it, too; I am sure!


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

