My Trip to the North Shore

Gregg, Mom, Karen and I next to Gooseberry Falls

Gregg, Mom, Karen and I next to Gooseberry Falls

My Mom, Gregg, friend Karen and I just returned from ourvacation on the North Shore of Minnesota. We had a wonderful time there.  I had never been to Duluth so I was amazed.  We stayed in a house that was beautiful.  I slept great there and was so calm.  I didn’t have nearly so much breatholding and hyperventilating as I do here.  It seems that being by a lake helps my body to be calm.  I loved it. I want to feel that way everyday!

 We went to a place called Gooseberry Falls.  It was amazing.  I could not see the waterfalls, but I could hear them, and I have seen the photos that we took. They are so beautiful.  There were trails that I could get pushed on with my wheelchair, so that is what we did.  I could hear the waterfalls. It was so perfect.  I think that was my favorite place.

 I also went on a boat tour of the harbor.  It was so interesting listening to the boat captain explain about everything that we could see.  It was so sunny and relaxing.  I learned a lot about ships and the Lake Superior that we were on.  It is a fresh water lake, but it is the deepest of all the great lakes.  It was cold in the water, but I was able to walk on the sand with Gregg’s help. It felt so good.  I wanted to sit down and play with the sand, like I have always done my entire life.  If I can touch the sand I sift it in my fingers.  It is fun to feel it, but I can’t stop my hands sometimes from putting it in my mouth.  That is frustrating because it calms me to play with sand, but it is gross in my mouth.

My feet walking in the soft sand along Lake Superior

My feet walking in the soft sand along Lake Superior

Gregg helped me walk on the shore

Gregg helped me walk on the shore

 

We went over the Airel Lift Bridge many times to get to our cottage. Here I got to be in a boat under it!

We went over the Airel Lift Bridge many times to get to our cottage. Here I got to be in a boat under it!

The boat was wheelchair accessible. It was very relaxing

The boat was wheelchair accessible. It was very relaxing

It was a trip that was much shorter because it was not so far to drive.  I loved it there.  I hope we can go again next year.  It is not impossible to go on a trip when you have a lot of needs, but it takes a lot of work for my parents and friend Karen who came with.  They worked hard to help me experience something new.  I am so glad for their love and support that gives my life adventure and experiences that I could never have on my own. It is always harder to be away from home, because things are set up so well at home, but when we are away I experience so many amazing things.  I love to be able to travel.

 Love, Karly

 

My Mom and I on the tour boat

My Mom and I on the tour boat

Gooseberry Falls, my favorite part of our trip

Gooseberry Falls, my favorite part of our trip

I felt so calm

I felt so calm

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sandy said,

    I am so glad you got to go to Duluth, it is one of my favorite places. The lake is so facinating to me and I love to watch the lift bridge go up and to watch the great ships pass under it. I have not been to Goosberry Falls, but after your description, I feel I must go. Thanks for sharing you trip and your photos, I need to mention to my husband that it has been a while since we have been to Duluth.

  2. 2

    forshalom said,

    karly-i was praying and knew in my heart that this trip was going to be something great! I am so glad it was! I cannot wait to see you saturday and hear more about the trip! I love you!

  3. 3

    forshalom said,

    karly-i
    was praying and knew in my heart that this trip was going to be something great! I am so glad it was! I cannot wait to see you saturday and hear more about the trip! I love you!

  4. 4

    Bethany said,

    Karly,
    This is wonderful that you were able to go on vacation to such a beautiful place. I am glad that you were able to get away from home for a while and to hear the waterfalls and be on the boat and in the cottage! Good luck with all the research for Rett as well! We should plan another visit together soon!

  5. 5

    Karen said,

    Hi Karly, What a beautiful presentation of our trip. You picked some great photos to share with everyone. Thanks again for allowing me to be a part of this amazing experience for you (and me). I love traveling with you.


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

