Hope and Much Joy

This has been an incredible week.  I have wanted to have a group of friends who are interested in doing meaningful things together, for many years.  Since I am not in a day program, and our town has very little to offer adults with disabilities, it has been lonely for me.  It is not good to be without friends to do things with.  I have so many things I want to do with others and now it is finally happening.

There is a beautiful place in our town for people who are retired.  It has everything from a pool to beautiful flower gardens, and walking paths to restaurants, and Dr’s offices, a theater, a library and very nice people in it.  They’re always so sweet to me.  My group of friends and I are going to meet there every week and do service projects and have artists come and join us.  We are eager to help others. We are so excited that they are eager for us to come there.  It is so fun for us to have a beautiful, kind place to go.  Many times adults with disabilties are given the back rooms with little interesting things to do. We are suppose to be content with projects that others give us.  We are not consulted about what our dreams are for our lives, but to be given the freedom to choose an activity that matters brings hope and lots of joy.

I am content.

I am smiling 🙂

Love, Karly

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    that sounds fantastic , Karly!! i’m happy you have found a place to express yourself and your choices!

  2. 2

    Jenni said,

    Karly,

    it was great to see you last week. I had so much fun! I hope we can do it again sometime soon. Maybe we could meet somewhere in between. You are such an inspiration to me and others. I’m so glad we are friends.

    Love Jenni


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

