Sending Grandpa Home

Grandpa, Leah and I when I was one month old

Grandpa, Leah and I when I was one month old

 I wanted to let everyone know that my Grandpa died last Friday night on June 19 at 11:30.  His children were all around him.  I am so glad that I got to spend his last day on earth with him.  I look forward to being free like he is now, of the things make this life difficult for me.  I know we will have a long hug, because in this life I was not able to hug him.  I love the Grandpa I spent the last two months with.  God’s peace Grandpa!  I know you know what that means now.

Love, Karly

 

 I am taking a writing class.  We are focusing on poetry right now, so I thought I would write a poem about my grandpa.  Here is my rough copy. After class today I will try and post my edited version. 

 

                              Sending Grandpa Home

I came to earth with challenges you had never seen

I’ve lived a life apart from yours

I understood what you said to me but did not answer with language you received

You felt pity, I felt the same

I wanted a Grandpa who could play

 

In your final months I saw a change

I felt your love

I saw your pain

You tried to understand

You heard my typing and questioned me about who I am

I know you saw my chair, but it no longer scared

You saw me

We could be real

We saw each others eyes

I will see you soon Grandpa

I will see you soon

 Karly W

 

 

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Megan said,

    What a beautiful poem — especially if it is the rough draft version! I love that you are taking a writing class; I look forward to reading more of your writing class work in addition to your thoughts about living with Rett Syndrome.

  2. 2

    bethanycrossley said,

    Beautiful Miss Karly, as always! It was great to chat with you guys today! I am glad you were able to enjoy the river. I love that river! It is so majestic and peaceful~ Like the aforementioned comment, I will also be excited to read your finished version! :O) I am glad for what a family’s love can do!

  3. 3

    Sandy said,

    Karly I am so sorry that you lost your Grandpa. I am very glad that you got to spend quality time with each other – your poem is beautiful just the way it is, right from the heart. I hope you enjoy your writing class, that is something I have always wanted to do.


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

