Moving On to Better Things

I am sitting here with my Mom this morning trying to express what is in my thoughts.  I have had a hard week.  My Mom is on a leave from her job so I can be cared for.  When someone walks away from our lives it leaves an enormous challenge for my family. If you need direct care and are reading this, I imagine you have experienced this too.  We are trying to find people with a higher standard for themselves. People who are compassionate and caring.  I want to say that I know my Mom has sacrificed so many things in order for me to have a quality life at home.  It has cost her a lot.  I am so glad that I still live at home.  I know there is no perfect place to live but being with family is so much better than some grouphomes I have visited.  I hope to be in a small home someday with a great friend.  I know that day may come when I will be leaving home, but I am so grateful in the meantime to be here.  We have little support right now, so it is hard, but I am praying for GREAT women.  If you have great care, you are very blessed.

Love, Karly

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Jenni Taylor said,

    Karly,
    I see that you and your family are having some troubles with care at this time. Don’t worry, it will get better. I know that’s hard to believe but someone great is going to come into your life and change everything. That person will help you trust others again and love you and your family. I too have experienced others leaving. Since I have 24/7 nurses, it is common to have people go on to other things. It is hard, not only to know that they have left but finding others to replace them. I am very fortunate to have a full staff at this time. It isn’t always that way. If a nurse calls in or they don’t show up my family, specifically my mom has to fill in. In the beginning, my mom was basically my only caregiver working sometimes 36 to 72 hours in a row. I know how hard it is for you and I am thinking about you.
    Jenni


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

