My First Election for President

This has been a great week for the world. The President that was elected was the one I voted for. I did an absentee ballot, which is a good thing because I was too sick on election day to go vote. I’m excited about Barack Obama because I think he will have an understanding of the challenges many of us face in this country.

I don’t know much about politics, but I know that my life is different today than it was a few years ago. For those of us who are not wealthy and are dependent on our government to help meet our daily needs, when we can’t do it ourselves, this is a great week. It seems the funding for some incredible opportunities for people with disabilities has stopped. It may have anyway, but I feel more hopeful today because I have heard the president during his campaign, and how respectful he was, and I feel hopeful for the world. I like the way he listens to people and hears their story. I hope that he is able to do that for people like me, who are not a loud voice. I know he knows what it is like to be judged by his body, instead of who he is as a man. In that way, he understands.

It helps all of us to be united, if we hear each other, because we are not that different. I think anyone who has faced prejudice knows what it’s like for others who face it because of something they cannot control. I heard from a wonderful woman in Michigan who shared with me how sad and difficult her life is because she is noticed and judged and watched and questioned wherever she goes. It is not because she has an obvious disability, it is because she “lives in a black body”. I never thought about it before, but those who live in bodies that stand out in the crowd, understand each other. In her case she works in a place that is mostly white. I live in a body that is noticed because of it’s challenges, but we understand each other.

I want to give hugs to everyone today who has felt isoltated overlooked ignored, underprivileged or judged because of the body they came to this world in. I love this day for the hope it brings to our world.

love, karly

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Pam said,

    I am so glad you were able to vote! When I was on my way to vote, I passed a woman leaving a voting place with her Guide Dog. It made me cry.
    I have Asperger’s and I too feel like he will be a voice for so many that have not always had a voice.

  2. 2

    Martha said,

    Karly,

    I am so happy to read your blog and learn so much more about you.
    I read it all, but am just commenting on this page.

    You are such a deep and spiritual and inspiring woman, not to mention intuitive and intelligent and i could go on and on.

    Everyone who has contact with you is given a great honor.
    I thought my life was full enough with insight and inspiration just by working here.
    I am speechless.

    Thank you. Thank you for expressing yourself.
    WOW.

    Whatever I can do to help you get an opportunity to continue your art and music, I will do.

    In meeting you, I have had a brush with greatness.

    I hope to meet you again, soon.

    -martha

  3. 3

    Sara said,

    Karly,

    I found your blog through the Woodland Hills website. I am amazed at your strength and am inspired by your writings. Thank you for sharing your story with so many people. I have been blessed this evening by you and your tremendous faith. Please continue to write and minister to others. I too attend Woodland Hills and would be honored to meet you some day.
    Your sister in Christ,
    Sara


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

