It Feels Good to be Me

This week was so special. I heard from people in Spain, a small village in southeast England, Hong Kong, the United States, and places I have never heard of like Istanbul. I would never have imagined that something so personal and painful could be used to help people see! (The Cruel Stare) It has been so fun to read the responses from people whose hearts have been changed because of our families painful day. I’ve heard from people, who like me, live in a body that challenges them daily, asking me to continue writing about my experiences. I am so honored by that.

I am very aware that it is not my writing that has opened peoples eyes. It is something God has done. I am cautious because I know it is hard for people to change their behaviors. I want it to happen today. I am eager for it to happen for all my friends around the world who live with great physical and emotional struggles.

I know people are not eager to change their behaviors. I wish I could make it easy for them. I wish they could see our hearts, and know that we would be the best of friends if we were given the chance. I hope you get to know one person who is lonely today. Your kindness could change their lives, and most of all yours.

This week we had 1499 people visit my blogpage. That is a number I never imagined. I know that my blog is being read by thousands and it has also been on a local radio station in our state. I am eager to see what takes place next.

I have been working with our filmaker Dan on my documentary. We are almost finished with the script for the introduction. It takes a long time to make a film, but I want it to be just right. It is not only my story, but millions of people who will not have the priviledge of having their own documentary. I am eager for my words to be accurate. I hope it will help my friends too.

love, karly

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bethany Crossley said,

    Keep it up chica! Everyone’s an influence, for good or for bad. I am so happy to seeing your use your influence for good and for helping others to see the good in themselves and those around them.

  2. 2

    Sandy said,

    Karly,
    True change may take a little time, but it always takes one courageous person to stand up and speak the truth to get the ball rolling! Thank you for being that person!!!! Your honesty, wisdom and humility inspire me every single day! Thank You for being YOU!
    Sandy

  3. 3

    di said,

    Hi Karly! I have been following your blog ever since I heard your story at Woodland. I see your heart Karly. I hear your beautiful voice. You have an amazing way with words and it is deeply gratifying to hear the impact your story is having on so many around the world! We are really blessed to have you right here in our midst! I look forward to meeting you some day and until then, getting to know you more and more through the words you share here. Bless you and your family…your love and humility and the way you honor those whom you love and appreciate is inspiriing and blesses Papa’s heart too. He is smiling on you Karly for allowing Him to express His love through your lovely body, soul and spirit. Love, di

  4. 4

    skinner said,

    Hi Karly,

    I just heard Pastor Boyd’s sermon online (I’m out in southern California).
    Anyway, after hearing your words I had to check out your blog. I love how
    honest you were about your experiences. I’m a big “tough guy” – 6’3″ and
    215lbs….and you had me tearing up like little girl, lol. It was actually pretty
    embarrassing since I was at my desk at work. I think it’s pretty obvious you
    were given a gift, not only how you write, but the sincerity behind it. You’re
    going to change a lot of people’s lives, so don’t be content with your
    thousands of blog hits….that is only the beginning 😉

  5. 5

    Lisa Jenkins said,

    Karly,
    You are truly blessed to be the voice that God is using to open the eyes of so many people. I was having a conference with the mother of my special student today and was explaining how there is such a difference in her responsiveness over the last month. She’s far more communicative, still frustrated at times but able to work through it and help me find out what she needs. I realized that a big part of the difference was in my own perception of her, the quality of my interactions with her and my responses to her interactions. I’ve always known that she was intelligent, but reading your blogs and seeing the world from her point of view has really opened my eyes. I feel that she knows now that her thoughts and wants are important and will be acknowledged and honored. We have a long way to go, but there’s so much hope. Thanks so much for sharing and making a difference in the life of this special little girl.


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

