On An Impossible Wonderful Trip

From the Van

I can’t begin to tell you how I feel about the last few days. It has been an incredibly challenging and perfectly wonderful trip to the Blackhills. It is the best place I have ever been to. I don’t ever remember being this far from home. I am so grateful that my family and my friend Karen have shared this place with me. It is so beautiful here. I have never dreamed of feeling like this. I don’t want to go home. It is a gift to have the ability to go to places like this. I don’t think most people are aware of what it takes for someone who is physically limited to be here. In our travels I have only seen one other person in a wheelchair.

I think it would be so wonderful to travel often, but I know it would be nearly impossible for me to do that. So I am very happy to be sitting in the shadows of such beauty. The rocks are enormous, the hills are impossible to climb and the animals are so different than the ones I am used to seeing.

I really loved seeing the wild horses. I was so sick that day that I had to lay down in the back of the jeep. Some would say I should have stayed in the RV, but Mom and Gregg asked me if I wanted to go and I said yes. I can be sick anywhere. I didn’t want to miss something that I had planned on for months. I wasn’t dissapointed. The woman that gave us a private tour was so kind to us. She drove us right out to where the horses were and shared so much information with us. That is something I will never forget.

Evening Campfire

I am not eager to go home. I want to stay here and relax in this beautiful place. I feel so content. I have slept better than I have in months.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bryanne said,

    Great to hear that you enjoyed your trip so much! I visited the Blackhills as a child and I agree..it was beautiful. I would like to go again now as an adult and see if it is how I remembered.

  2. 2

    funkyhammer said,

    Welcome home!
    🙂
    Wow….sick and still able to seek out the adventure….you are one tough cookie!

    And what a vacation…..the pics are sweet, the poem was lovely….Thanks for sharing…..but it says a lot if you are able to sleep better out and away than at home, that is huge!

  3. 3

    Sandy said,

    Gosh I am so glad you are loving your trip! I have not been to the Black Hills nor have I ever seen wild horses – I cannot wait to hear about the entire trip! Great Photo of you and your mom!!

    Sandy


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

