When People Get Together

I am so amazed at what can happen when people get together and combine their ideas. I am so excited about a group my mom heard about in Ohio who are doing some amazing art.  I think it can happen here in our state too. The group is called Passionworks. They have found a way for adults who have challenges and artists to work together to create beautiful art. It has helped all of them have a better life.  It has made them noticed in their community. They are respected for their talents.  It is beautiful because I know most of the adults were ignored before they found their gifts.

I want to be noticed for the gifts I have, not for the things that are considered wrong with me. It is hard to have people notice me for all the wrong reasons. It is something those of us with visible disabilities want to see changed. If everyone who had some personal challenge be visible to the world, it would change how we interact with each other. It is incredible that adults and children stare at me. I see myself as extrordinary and others as ordinary!

I am really not all that different from others.

I laugh, I love, I eat, I eagerly wait to see friends, I feel sad, I hurt sometimes, I have great days and hard days.

Karly

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    bookbabie said,

    Lovely post Karly, I enjoyed reading your blog today. You do sound like an extraordinary person. Smart, creative, thoughtful…perfect:)

  2. 2

    Sandy said,

    Karly,
    YOU are THE reason I look at people (of every ability) much differently now. I find myself wondering what is on the “inside” of people and that is something I never really did before. I find I worry much less about me and more about others. Thanks for the chance you have given us all to “see inside”!

    Love Sandy!
    P.S. I hear the Minis are at the fair this weekend!

  3. 3

    Bethany Crossley said,

    Karly, I just checked out the passionworks website, and I think this is so incredible!!!! If anyone can get something started like this in your area, it is definitely YOU! You have great vision, and I hope everything works out just the way you want it to!! Love you!

  4. 4

    jodi said,

    karly, i am working with an 8 year old girl diagnosed with rhett syndrome. her greatest learning deficit continues to be her involuntary hand “clapping”? was this ever an issue for you?


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

