Giving The Silent Dignity

I am sitting here this morning feeling very content. I have just used facilitated communication with my new friend Stephanie. It gives me hope that we will be able to communicate freely with each other. Without being able to communicate with caregivers I am at their mercy. It doesn’t give me the opportunity to share my thoughts, feelings, concerns, needs or desires with them.I am so happy when I am able to give voice to my needs. It makes me more connected to those who are providing care for me.

For too much of my life, I have tried to connect with the people around me and have not been successful. I have always been able to do so with my Mom and my friend Amy, but I have not been able to do this with most others. I share this because I know there are thousands who are not able to communicate their needs, like me. I am fortunate that through FC I am able to connect with others.

I am going to be speaking tomorrow at a conference for recreational therapists. It is amazing to me that someone like me who is non-verbal is being given the chance to share my story and music with professionals. It is amazing to me because I have not been in the public view for most of my life. Only as someone who has been odd, or different. It is amazing to me that someone like me can be seen as having something to share with professionals. I am hoping that they hear what I have to say. I have my text prepared with lots of photos. I want them to see me- not Rett syndrome.I hope they hear the music I created and start to see others they work with, with new eyes. It is fun to have people interested in what I have to say. I am really eager for their questions. I will update you after tomorrow.

Karly

 

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    funkyhammer said,

    Good luck….Have Fun! I am getting soooooo excited for you! I can see your God given gentle power shining through so I pray that all those CTRSs will see your strengths too!

  2. 2

    Kelly Butler said,

    You will do great tomorrow! I can’t wait to hear how it goes! I look forward to your next post.


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

