I Live Because I Communicate

I know many of you are wondering how I type. I will share what it is like for me.  I was able to type the first day I was given a typewriter during my assessment.  The woman who did my assessment had learned from the best in the world at that time.  How she did it was she gave me picture cards, then moved up to word cards, then a small typewriter–all within the first day.  It was how she held my hand that allowed me to have intentional movements. 

I think it was because of her experience with others who are autistic that she gave me the opportunity.  My teacher and a therapist were at our home to watch the assessment.  My teacher was not in agreement with my intelligence.  She was vocal about it at school because she was certain her ideas about me were correct. 

I remember asking the assessor a question.  The first words anyone saw me type:  Can you record?  She was showing me the typewriter, and I wanted to know if it would keep the words I typed into it.  It was the first words my mom saw me type and it began a whole new life for us. 

Before I could communicate I was so oppressed, I wanted to die.  If I hadn’t learned to use FC I would not have had the will to live.  I wanted to do more than share my basic needs.  I had so much more I needed to say.  It was so exciting to find a way to share who I was. 

If my mom had believed what others were saying about me, I would still be doing meaningless tasks.   My mom believed in me when all others gave her no hope.  If we let others determine who we are, we will become so much less than what we are capable of.  My mom is the one person who didn’t let the beliefs of others determine who I am.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Christine Christopherson said,

    I am so happy to be able to keep up with you from such a distance! What a fanatastic way to share your stories with the whole wide world! Karly, I am very proud of you and want you to know that you inspire me every time I read about you. Your stories are very eye opening and should give hope to many. You taught me so much about how to view people that are different than me. You taught me so much about how to live life, and you taught me so much about being a friend. Thank you for having a voice for so many!

    Your Friend Always,

    Christine from South Dakota

  2. 2

    Kelly said,

    Yea for mom! Give her a big hug for me! I believe in my little girl like that to! One day I know Brooklyn will type too – I wonder what her first words will be?

  3. 3

    Sandy said,

    Kelly,
    I bet they will be “Thanks for believing in me, I love you mom!!!”
    Sandy

  4. 4

    Jessica said,

    Oh bless your heart! What a true inspiration you are to any mom who has a little girl with Retts! I am in awe of this blog that I just found tonight. Know this… people ARE listening to you! I know I will be checking in often. THANK YOU for starting this blog and please keep it up! 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

