When I’m Alone

In my head I have many thoughts but they’re not coming easy today.  I want to share what it’s like to be isolated from the typical world. I am fortunate that I’m not in an adult day program where others decide what’s interesting and fun, for adults who cannot speak up for themselves.  It is where you observe adults trying to cope by rocking and doing things that prevent them from going nuts.  If a typical adult was given so little to occupy their time and minds and bodies, they would likely look and act like many of my autistic friends.  We are not ignorant.  We are just not able to speak up at injustices to ourselves and others.  We are expected to be content that we are not starving or soiled.  When typical adults see us they are awkward in their interactions with us if they notice us at all.  I feel so fortunate that I am able to determine my own days with the support of my mom and friend.

Come back soon. I will write more when I am healthy.  I am home sick today.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sandy said,

    Karly,
    first of all, I hope you feel better soon!!! It sucks to be sick!
    I cannot imagine someone else deciding my day or what might be interesting to me. We are all individual and have individual interests! Please, when you feel better, share with us what things interest you! FOr instance, what are your favorite topics to discuss? What kind of stories do you like? What are some of your favorite places? What kind of music do you like? Favorite Singer/Performer, etc. I know you have a love of horses, a love I happen to share with you! I do believe that physical challenges aside, you and I are really not so different, are we?
    Get better soon! I’m anxious to hear more of what you have to say!
    Sandy

  2. 2

    Lisa said,

    Dear Karly,
    I want to thank you for creating your blog; you are educating and enlightening everyone who reads it. Who knows how many other people without speech might benefit – all because their parents, caregivers, teachers, or what-have-you have read your words.
    My daughter learned to communicate using a Letterboard when she was 10 years old. There was a time when we thought she had Rhett’s Syndrome. Then they thought Angelman’s Syndrome. Whatever the label, she could not speak and could not control her motor movements and so life was very limited. Communication has brought enormous freedom and joy into her life. One day we hope all individuals who have been unjustly labelled and held back will find their voice and live as they have every right to.
    Thanks again for your efforts!
    Lisa


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

